Wednesday, July 24, 2024

SPORTS | 30-10-2023 18:34

Lionel Messi wins Ballon d'Or for eighth time

Lionel Messi wins Ballon d'Or for eighth time, 'Dibu' Martínez wins Tashin Award for best goalkeeper; Spain's World Cup-winning star Aitana Bonmati won the Women's Ballon d'Or earlier in the evening.

Lionel Messi won the eighth Ballon d'Or of his remarkable career at a glittering ceremony in Paris on Monday, while Spain's World Cup-winning star Aitana Bonmati took the women's prize.

For Messi, the trophy rewards, above all else, his inspirational performances at last year's World Cup in Qatar, when he dragged Argentina to victory, scoring seven goals and being named the tournament's best player.

It was the crowning moment of his astonishing career, and it allowed him to see off stiff competition, in particular from Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappé, to take the award on the stage of the Chatelet Theatre in Paris.

It was a return to the French capital after his departure from Paris Saint-Germain in June and his subsequent move to Inter Miami in Major League Soccer.

"This is a gift to the whole Argentina team for what we achieved," said Messi on stage after receiving his award from David Beckham, the co-owner of Inter Miami.

Messi dedicated the trophy to late Argentina legend Diego Maradona, who would have celebrated his 63rd birthday on Monday.

"Happy birthday Diego. This is for you too," he said.

The Rosario-born previously won the Ballon d'Or on seven occasions: in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021.

The Albiceleste captain attended the gala with his wife, Antonela Roccuzzo, and their three sons, Thiago, Mateo and Ciro.

Earlier in the evening, Argentina national team goalkeeper Emiliano 'Dibu' Martinez won the Lev Yashin Award for the best goalkeeper of the past year.

The Aston Villa goalkeeper was chosen ahead of Real Madrid's Belgian Thibaut Courtois, Barcelona's German Marc-Andre Ter Stegen, Manchester City's Brazilian Ederson Moraes and Al-Hilal's Moroccan Yassine Bounou.

His crucial saves in the World Cup, and his performances with his English club, weighed heavily in the final decision.

The Lev Yashin award, named in honour of the great Soviet goalkeeper, was presented to him by his father Alberto in a pre-arranged surprise.

"Without my team-mates in the national team and at Aston Villa, it wouldn't be possible," said Martínez, who finished 15th in the overall award.

Putting a slight dent on the evening, the Argentine keeper was booed by some of the French audience, who haven't forgiven him for his antics in the World Cup final.


Mbappé, Haaland just miss out

Messi benefitted from a recent change which means the award is based on a player's record over the last season, rather than over the calendar year.

He won despite an underwhelming final season at PSG, even if he was a Ligue 1 title winner.

Mbappé was the star player in that team, scoring 41 goals, and was also the World Cup's top scorer with eight goals, including a hat-trick in the final which France lost to Argentina on penalties.

Yet he fell just short for the Ballon d'Or, finishing third, while Norway striker Haaland came second after scoring 52 goals in 53 games for the Manchester City team that won the treble of English Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League.

Messi is 36 and won his first Ballon d'Or in 2009. With eight, he is now three ahead of his old rival Cristiano Ronaldo, the next most decorated player in the history of the award.

It remains to be seen if Messi will again feature in the running for the prize, which is voted for by one journalist in each of the top 100 nations in the FIFA ranking.

"I am not thinking about the long-term future. I am just enjoying the day to day at the moment," he said.

Messi will struggle to hold off the next wave of superstars, led by Mbappé, Haaland and Real Madrid's Jude Bellingham, but his World Cup performances made his victory this time feel inevitable.

The women's prize seemed even more clear cut, as Bonmati was rewarded for starring as Spain won the World Cup in Australia in August.

The 25-year-old midfielder was named the best player at the World Cup as the Spanish team overcame off-field turbulence, including protests against their national federation and coach Jorge Vilda, to lift the trophy.


Bonmati takes Women's award 

Bonmati also starred as Barcelona won the Champions League last season and was recently named as the UEFA Women's Player of the Year.

"It is difficult to improve on this. It has been a unique year," she told various media including AFP.

"If anyone said to me when I was little that I would play at the Camp Nou, win the World Cup, two Champions Leagues, a Ballon d'Or, a UEFA award, these are extraordinary things."

She was one of four members of the triumphant Spain team to feature among the 30 nominees, with Alba Redondo, Salma Paralluelo and full-back Olga Carmona, who netted the winner in the final, all shortlisted.

Last year's Ballon d'Or winner Alexia Putellas, also part of that Spain side, was not nominated after missing almost all of last season with a knee injury.

Australia's Sam Kerr came second with Paralluelo in third place.

Putellas had won the Ballon d'Or in each of the previous two campaigns. Norway's Ada Hegerberg won the inaugural award in 2018 and USA star Megan Rapinoe succeeded her a year later.

Bellingham won the Kopa Trophy for the best player of last season aged under 21.

The 20-year-old has started his Madrid career with 13 goals in 13 games, although the prize rewards his performances in his final campaign with Borussia Dortmund.

Bellingham's Madrid teammate, the Brazil forward Vinícius Junior, won the Socrates prize in recognition of his off-pitch work.


List of recent Ballon d'Or winners after Monday's 2023 award ceremony:


2023: Lionel Messi (ARG)
2022: Karim Benzema (FRA)
2021: Lionel Messi (ARG)
2020: Cancelled due to Covid-19 pandemic
2019: Lionel Messi (ARG)
2018: Luka Modric (CRO)
2017: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR)
2016: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR)
2015: Lionel Messi (ARG)
2014: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR)
2013: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR)


2023: Aitana Bonmati (ESP)
2022: Alexia Putellas (ESP)
2021: Alexia Putellas (ESP)
2020: Cancelled due to Covid-19 pandemic
2019: Megan Rapinoe (USA)
2018: Ada Hergerberg (NOR)



related news


More in (in spanish)